Relationship Background

In middle school, I dated one boy, who turned out to be my best friend that I had confused as more. It was a really bland relationship that lasted for a whopping 3 months. We never did anything more than hold hands, and even that was a rare occurrence. We broke up, but it was definitely for the better. We are still best friends and not 2 years after our break up, he came out as gay. And do you know what’s even worse? I knew it.

Then came high school. Throughout which, I struggled to find a boyfriend. I dated a guy for one week only to have him date my sister for the next three years. No harsh feelings though, we are just not compatible. I then made the mistake of dating a guy I met online, through my cousin. That relationship was a waste of my time and awkward to the max.  And the result of this lack of men? The classic never-been-kissed scenario. 

However, never been kissed has its own complications. One, technically my lips have met with three people. My first, technically, kiss was on stage with my first boyfriend. You know, the gay one. We were playing husband and wife and a stage kiss was necessary. The other two were a result of truth or dare. Everyone who was playing that night knew I had no experience in the kissing department, so, luckily, I was spared some of the more intense make-out sessions. One boy got the genius idea of making me kiss the girl next to me for 7 seconds. So. Awkward. And then there was the follow up 7 minutes in heaven. My friends were too lazy to sit around for 7minutes, thank God, and shortened it to 2 minutes. I got crammed in a closet with an apparently hott, I disagree, man who was blindfolded and who also proceed to pin me to a wall and attack me with his lips. Horrifying.

(I just want to point out that at this point, I am probably looking like a partier. I am certainly not a partier and am actually extremely straight laced when it comes to alcohol and drugs. Neither substances were at the party, but sober teenagers.)

So, to simplify all of that, I have never been kissed by my boyfriend.

 

Emily Treat

P.S. this whole dating background does not mean I have not been rejected. I have asked out two boys (and another indirectly) and have been rejected by each.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

