Devil Bug

image

So one day, I was sitting in my living room with my mom and sister when my mom gasped, “Look at that thing on the screen!”

I glanced over to witness the freakiest looking beetle known to man. I later found out it was a red and black version of an Asian Longhorn Beetle, pictured above, or at least it looks a lot like it.

My mom chose that moment to say, “What do you think you would do if that thing ran into you? It would be like a rock was just chucked at you.”

“Haha, I know! It would freak the Hell out of me.” We dubbed the bug ‘Devil Bug’ and continued with the rest of the night.

The next day I went to a late night bon fire with some friends. We were all sitting around the fire when I heard vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv-bvvv! and was smacked in the head. I jumped and looked towards the sound of the kamikaze bug and saw my worst nightmare in the fire. The Devil Bug was laying on its back, scrambling for it’s life and it died soon after.

Once it stopped moving it didn’t take long for me to move on, but then there was a faint whistling coming from the bug. He was going to explode. I jumped back and watched with horror as the bug burst into flames and shriveled up. Looks like the Devil Bug went back home, in Hell.   

 

Emily Treat

Leave a Reply

